What do we know about Kosher Maple Syrup at Kosher Bread Pro ? We know it’s a hot topic for Kosher Baking.
About Kosher Maple Syrup
Maple syrup is unique (and delicious!) because it is pure and made from a single ingredient. It is something that virtually anyone can enjoy, because it has no fat, and no animal products. Likewise, certified kosher maple syrup is guaranteed to remain pure. Whether or not you are Jewish, buying kosher syrup is still a good way to make certain that it has gone through good quality testing.
Like any other food, kosher maple syrup needs to conform to Jewish food-making standards, and maple sugar farms that claim to produce it have to be inspected regularly by a rabbi. Generally, producers who want to have their syrup certified kosher need to have their production process inspected every one or two weeks.
The rabbi makes sure that anything coming into contact with the kosher maple syrup is also kosher. He checks the machinery and bottles to make sure they aren’t contaminated. The rabbi will even inspect the soaps used to clean the machines, to make sure that they are a kosher-approved type.
At one point, maple sugar farmers would add small amounts of lard (pig fat) to the syrup to minimize foaming during the boiling process. More recently, however, virtually no maple sugar producers continue to do this: the ones who use stabilizers almost always use small amounts of vegetable oil. You can check to see if any stabilizers are used just by checking the nutrition facts. But if you are concerned about what kind of stabilizers are used, buying certified kosher maple syrup would definitely be a safe, pig-fat-free way to go.
Philip Rozek invites you to step into the world of maple syrup at http://www.maplesugarrecipe.com/articles-on-maple-sugar-candy.html where you can learn about Maine maple syrup, Vermont maple candy, organic maple syrup and more. He’ll even show you five reasons to make all-natural maple sugar candy at home.